Waiting and Listening

Much of my writing occurs at night, hence the blog title “Musings of the Night. ” It seems after the chaos of the day, this is when my thoughts finally have a free moment to start forming.

Last night, however, for the first time that I can remember, my mind went completely blank. I had a book in front of me that went unread. I was unable to write, and in fact, had no ideas. At first I found myself frustrated with this feeling as I didn’t know what to do with myself. Those who know me well would tell you I always have at least two ideas on the backburner. Most of my life I have had trouble settling at night because my mind gets overactive when go to bed.

Well there was nothing I could do about it, and the feeling continues today. I did get out for a walk and made it to my favorite spot at the lake. While I sat there on this beautiful day, I thought perhaps this is part of a bigger picture and maybe, just maybe, I’m supposed to be listening. So, as hard as this is for me, I’m going to kick back, go along for the ride, and let my mind wander through the quiet stillness that I have found.

Where this journey will end, who knows, but I’m waiting and listening as I travel to wherever it leads me.

Leave a Reply

