The Lily

The other day I saw this quiz on someones site, so I decided to take it, just for fun.  I will put the link here if anyone wants it. When the results were in, I was not surprised.  I am a nurturer, a caregiver if you will. I have spent much of my life as a nurse, mother, daughter and sister and have been taking care of people for as long as I can remember.

Recently I have backed away, or at least tried to, from the care-taking role as the one thing I forgot to do along the way, was take care of myself.  What happened as a result, was severe caregiver/caretaker burnout.  I’m finally taking that time, at least trying to, for myself, but I find no matter how hard I try to change myself, that caregiver side in me continues to surface.  At least now it is only part of me and not my entire life.

Today I was viewing blogs of friends and I came across the passage below, from the Bible.  The Bible has been twisted and misused by so many people along they way, that I wonder how many of us realize what beautiful things can be found in it.  My personal favorite is “The Song of Solomon.”  The passage below put things in perspective for me and made me feel quite good about being a lily.

You Are A Lily

You are a nurturer and all around natural therapist.
People see you as their rock. And they are able to depend on you.
You are a soothing influence. You can make people feel better with a few words.
Your caring has more of an impact than even you realize.

“Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.” (Matt. 6:28-29)

Leave a Reply

