Moving Through and Moving Forward

One of the blogs I frequent talks a great deal about positive thought and the power of love.  Anyone who reads my posts knows that I would certainly agree with the power of love. I also think that positive thought is a wonderful thing.  Still I wonder when positive thought becomes a handicap, perhaps blinding you to the things in your life that you need to change and can positive thought then become a negative.

 Don’t misunderstand me here; I do not promote negative thinking. What I am saying is, if we always make things positive, how we can move with honesty through our lives.   Where do we draw the line to say, “that wasn’t positive, that was awful and I need to work through it and heal”?  Do we allow people those opportunities to pour our their feelings, often working through old things and starting to heal, or do we always expect the positive spin?  

One of my friends has a blog filled with beautiful spiritual thoughts, one that lifts and inspires the reader. It’s one of my favorite places to go. Today it spoke of bringing joy to the world every day, finding joy and spreading joy. . This is something we should all strive for.  Still there are days where we must face the things that will not, in the beginning, bring us joy, or spread joy.  Those days will bring us greater clarity and help us to grow.  I responded to this friend and reminded her that my given name is Joy. She said she was thinking about me when she posted it.  Whether this was due to my name or the fact that I have been less than joyful this week, I don’t know.  What I do know is this was one of those weeks where I had to deal with things that were not always joyful; memories that needed to come forward so I could finally grieve and move on. It was a week of realizations of things in my life that need to be left behind, a process that will eventually bring joy, but will be difficult and uncomfortable at first, certainly not one that will find or spread joy.  

 The world is a beautiful place but it is filled with things that aren’t beautiful as well. Feelings and emotions are important no matter what they might be.  It is important that we embrace those emotions and move through them, rather than push them behind a blanket of lovely platitudes.  Only then will we truly be able to move down this road of life.

4 thoughts on “Moving Through and Moving Forward

  1. I often think people, myself included, consider being realistic as negative. The realm of thought is not nearly as neat and tidy as black and white, positive and negative, there is a vast land of grey and there’s nothing wrong with accepting that not all things are one or the other. We all know the saying that some people feel a glass is half full and while others feel the glass is half empty, but on the other hand it’s still just a glass with water in it. 🙂

  2. We need to be realistic as much as we need to be idealistic. We need to be realistic to cut our ties to toxic behaviors and toxic relationships. We must be able to identify poison as poison and take the antidotes needed to heal. Life is not a bowel of cherries. Sometimes it’s the pits and we have to learn how to process the pits without minimization of their impact upon us.

  3. Exactly the thing I was trying to say romancingthecrone. You cannot walk through life with rose colored glasses. you must learn to cut and move on.

  4. I have to agree wholeheartedly with all of you ladies. If one simply tries to ignore the negative, sweep it under the carpet, or bury it with positive thought it will simply, in many cases, rot and fester and cause more harm in the long run than simply confronting it honestly in the beginning.

    Mama Kelly

Leave a Reply

