Afternoon Delight

Today I went to the lake with my son and the dog. It was a perfect day the water clear and still. The trees were just starting to turn and yet there were still purple and white wild flowers abounding, covered with bumblebees.

We could have stayed half the day there but time did now allow, as I had dinner on the stove and work tonight. On the way back we saw the most amazing thing. My son pointed to a tree in front of us certain he had seen a bluebird. I scoffed as I have seen one, yes that’s right, one, in my entire life, a mountain bluebird out in Colorado. After I finally located it, there it was, plumper than normal, nothing unusual for our birds, but a bluebird I’m certain. There was not only one, but several in that tree. I have never seen anything like it in my life. There was also another tiny bird I had never seen as well. My parents were very much into bird watching so I’m familiar with many birds.

After we got back home, I went to the Audubon site, still not trusting what I had seen. It was indeed the eastern bluebird. It just shows how such a small part of  nature can be so wonderful.

4 thoughts on “Afternoon Delight

  1. Hello,
    I was wondering who I could contact about gaining permission to use this photo in a powerpoint presentation being created by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources to educate other workers here and the public about Biodiversity.
    If you could give me guidance as to who I need to contact then that would be great,
    Thanks

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review « Musings of the Night

Leave a Reply

