Reflections on Halloween Night

Halloween is well underway, the doorbell ringing at a record pace. My dog should be exhausted by the end of the evening, her sleep affording me more quiet for the time I wait to spend on this day.

Halloween has always been a big deal in my house, but my youngest son is the king of this day.  It’s difficult now that traditions are mixing, as I am trying to find a way to weave those things that are  important to me, into the fun that has always been a part of our family. My little brooms are up with the pumpkins, all mixed with the scary display my son has set out.  I have just viewed a picture of a carved turnip, traditional to friends who live in the UK.  I cannot imagine the work that must go into carving these and I was amazed at how nice it looked.

The most difficult thing is finding the time and energy for those things I find important.  Still, if it’s anything like last year, energy or not, those who wish to speak with me will certainly find me.

As the evening settles and the light of the moon and stars is all the lights up the night, I will hopefully find that quiet time to reflect and listen for the messages that might wait for me. For now the voice of this night is a room filled with boys and a dog, happily counting candy and admiring the decorations of the night.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Halloween Night

  1. I hope that your night is as magical as mine. The stars are out in their glory and the moon, well I have not your words for her devilish smile! I thought of you while I was out lighting candles in my labyrinth and sent you glad tidings on a moonbeam, and peace in a flame.
    Happy All Hallows Eve…

  2. I carved turnips one year with my kids…now, not being a turnip eater I don’t know a good one from a bad one…but man oh man the ones we had stank like old death. And they are much firmer and thicker than pumpkins…it was fun, but we’ve stuck to pumpkins since than! *l*

Leave a Reply

