For But A Moment

Last night I found my oldest son on Facebook. It was an eerie feeling knowing we are once again not communicating and  how much I miss him. My shortcomings as a parent have become his focus and it hurts to much to hear this sort of thing over and over. Still he was my favorite when he was a boy and I miss him terribly. This evening I received this from someone who has experienced some of the same things. I thought I’d post it for all of us. There are no guarantees in this life. Our children are our own for but a moment. They may choose to fly away and never return.

 

Remember Kahlil Gibran’s words

Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them,
but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children
as living arrows are sent forth.
The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
and He bends you with His might
that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let our bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
so He loves also the bow that is stable.

3 thoughts on “For But A Moment

  1. I love this poem from Gibran. It moves me every time I read it. thank you for sharing. would you mind if I linked to this post? I am trying to write something about my own child and this resonates so perfectly with wha i am trying to say. thank you.

  2. Pingback: Ketchup :) « Walking the Labrynth of Life

  3. Thank you for posting this. My daughter, 20, isn’t speaking to me right now. She did this once before, when she turned 18….And while I know in my heart it’s not about me (with the support of my family and friends), it’s still a painful thing. I’ve gone through so much with her over the course of her life – so many ‘letting gos’. What has helped was when I began really believing that she was her own spirit with her own journey and her own lessons. I have mine. And while I’ll love her completely and forever, I also know that I have to maintain healthy boundaries with her. *sigh*

    Sometimes I wonder – if I had known ahead of time what motherhood would be like, if I would have had the courage! LOL

    Sorry about your son…I hope that one day you will experience great healing in your relationship with him!

Leave a Reply

