Stars

Stars have always fascinated me, ever since I was a little girl.  I loved sparkly stars, glittery stars, glow in the dark stars and of course the stars in the sky.  It’s probably a miracle that once on my own I didn’t decorate my room in stars, something that would have horrified all the traditional home types that surrounded me.

Now I find myself more focused on the stars in the sky something that I notice so much more these days. The new moon is upon us giving the stars a dark canvas on which to paint their pictures.  This morning after returning home from work I found myself standing out in the darkness  and cold surveying the jeweled sky with renewed wonder. As I made my way home I noticed a star, very bright pushing its way through the scattered clouds that surrounded it, creating a halo of light that was hard to miss. I thought at first it might be a plane, as it was so large and bright, but it did not move following my journey home.  My eyes were tired from the night I called my son, who was awake, to join me. I thought perhaps it was an illusion caused by blurry vision. He told me he had seen this star on a previous night early in the evening from the deck.  I have no idea what I was looking at, but it was beautiful and unlike the other stars that graced the darkness.

Tonight I will once again look for this star this one that called to me, creating a moment of tranquility and appreciation for the beauty of a cold winter’s morning.

 

 stars.jpg

2 thoughts on “Stars

Leave a Reply

