To Value and Cherish

The last couple of days have been tiring, dealing with the everyday stresses of money and so forth. After I finally mellowed from my frenzy I realized how disconnected I had become from the things most important to me, and how empty I felt without them. Once the voice of the divine begins speaking to you it’s a hard thing to ignore. To put it away from you is to discard a part of yourself. Then there is that person we sometimes find, the one who holds a key to your innermost soul, one who helps you find the person you were meant to be. Whether near or far, once found they are a part of you forever, so again when disconnected a part of self is gone.

It feels like I am on another part of the journey, a less pleasant part perhaps but a journey nevertheless. It seems to be one of discovery of value, my value. I am struggling to understand life at the moment, one where I have worked so hard for everyone and feel so little value in return. Perhaps that’s life, I don’t know, but I know it is a turning point for me, one where my needs are once again pressing forward. They are not huge needs, just the need to feel valued, to feel cherished just once in this life. I think this is why I found that person who though far from me, has never felt like a stranger, and why one autumn day out on the trail, I knew without a doubt that I was not alone. They have come to cherish me, to remind me of my value and steady me on these tired days.

To be valued and cherished, To know our relative worth, merit and importance, and to be treated with affection and tenderness. All of us need to know and feel these things.

Sometimes our light goes out
but is blown into a flame by another human being.
Each of us owes deepest thanks
to those who have rekindled this light.”
(Albert Schweitzer)

Leave a Reply

