Lost in Thoughts

Hot summer days have arrived, and with it today comes the rain. I love a nice thunderstorm. It brings a feeling of peace and solitude that is hard to match. Of course if it happens too often the solitude can be quickly replaced with frustration. We need the rain here so I am hopeful it will not let us down.

It was a long weekend, filled with work and a lovely holiday. We traveled back to my childhood neighborhood, daring at best after our experiences last year. Driving through the familiar streets stirred many memories and a bit of sadness. I had forgotten how much I miss it and the melting pot of people it provides. I love getting to know people from different cultures. It is the only way to learn about one another and bring down the barriers that fill this world.

The day was warm and the gang issues of last year’s celebration were quickly squashed. It was a lovely day for families and friends. I love to go to things like this and people watch. As I watched a group of children newer to our country, run and play, laughing and smiling, I thought to myself, imagine what some of them have seen in their short lifetimes. We take for granted the luxury to run, play and laugh without fear of someone coming at any time to harm us. Some of them know this for the first time.

My son and I spent the day talking, time I realize will not always be there. He wandered off at one point to find a girl he remembered from when we had lived there, and later found her online. This is the way of things with life. Time moves on, old neighborhoods fill with new faces, children grow and change and so do we.

I guess I am lost in thoughts today as I seem to be more and more. I think I will spend the day writing to the music of the rain and thunder. Perhaps I will come up with something good. Love and light to all who travel here where ever you may be in the world.

2 thoughts on “Lost in Thoughts

  1. “I love to go to things like this and people watch. As I watched a group of children newer to our country, run and play, laughing and smiling, I thought to myself, imagine what some of them have seen in their short lifetimes.”

    Foreigners are often wary of strangers watching over them.

  2. What a beautiful post, GF 🙂 I’m a big fan of people watching, too, and going back to my home town never fails to bring up some fond (OK..and not so fond) memories.

    Hope you are well, sweetie!
    *********************************************************
    All is well thank you.

Leave a Reply

