August

Mornings have changed bringing with them a burst of cool air and the first whispers of autumn on the horizon.  The heat of August will no doubt continue for at least a few weeks, but I am reminded how quickly the time passes and how soon the leaves will begin to change to the glorious colors of fall. 

There is something about this time of year that makes me want to get settled, perhaps something within from times past, calling me to ready the home for the winter months to come.  I love autumn, the cool air and bright colors of the landscape. It has always been my favorite season. This summer has been warm and beautiful, blessed with everything one could wish for in a summer , even with the changes it brought. As it departs on an autumn morning,  I will not feel cheated.  It is better to treasure each beautiful moment, as they hurry by, as if they were only a passing dream.  The connection to the earth is with me today, wrapping me in nurturing energy,  a gift after too many stress filled days.  I can feel the earth beneath me and the wind and sun on my face. I can see the flowers of summer and the crimson leaves of autumn.  I can feel the rush of cold and the sparkling snow of winter followed by the first scents of spring as winter melts away.  

There is a voice telling me this is what I need today, to sit with the seasons and the elements and let them wash over me while I rest, finding myself again and the peace and strength to move forward to new challenges.

“August rushes by like desert rainfall,
A flood of frenzied upheaval,
Expected,
But still catching me unprepared.
Like a matchflame
Bursting on the scene,
Heat and haze of crimson sunsets.
Like a dream
Of moon and dark barely recalled,
A moment,
Shadows caught in a blink.
Like a quick kiss;
One wishes for more
But it suddenly turns to leave,
Dragging summer away.”
–  Elizabeth Maua Taylor 

 

One thought on “August

  1. I hope that you are resting well, How goes the home hunt? I assume that is the stress you speak of. Have not seen the color at the top of the mountain, and the heat is still persistent, but I am waiting…
    in the interim, be good to you!

Leave a Reply

