The Lady of Shallot

I know I have had this up before but when moving posts I felt like sharing it today.

theladyofshallot_1888.jpg

One of my favorite artists is John Waterhouse. His paintings are from the late 1800’s and early 1900’s. His greatest focus was myth, literature, romance and love, and he painted women to reflect these things. Being a hopeless romantic I would, of course, be pulled to such things.
Many of the paintings on the website I visit have brief summaries of the literature or myth they were taken from. It is a lovely site to browse if you have the chance. I have included one of my favorites here.
The painting is a reflection of the poem “The Lady of Shallot” by Alfred Lord Tennyson. This is another favorite of mine as well. It is said to be the story of Elaine, whos unrequited love for Lancelot breaks her heart and ultimately leads to her demise.


Leave a Reply

